Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF
November 08, 2015

Lauri-Ellen Smith, APR Honored by Public Relations Society of America

Lloyd B. Dennis Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes exemplary public affairs
ATLANTA (Nov. 8, 2015) — The Public Affairs and Government (PAG) Section of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) selected Lauri-Ellen Smith, Sr. Public Affairs & Public Relations Executive for the Jacksonville, Florida Sheriff’s office as the 2015 recipient of the Lloyd. B. Dennis Distinguished Leadership Award. Smith accepted the award yesterday in Atlanta, GA during the PRSA 2015 International Conference.
Recognized nationally as a specialist and expert in public, media and government relations and disaster communications, Smith has more than 30 years of experience in a wide variety of industries including retail, healthcare, publishing, and also including two Fortune 500 companies. She is a recognized trainer for Public Information Officers, and recently was a featured speaker at the SMILE (Social Media in Law Enforcement) Conference and the NIOA (National Information Officers Association). 
A dedicated member of PRSA, she began as a PRSSA member in 1979 at the University of Florida, and has been a member of the professional association since graduation. She has been a member of the Public Affairs and Government Section since 2007 and currently serves as Section Chair. 

"To be recognized by my peers who all work in public affairs and public relations for the government and military is a tremendous honor. My work with first responders, assisting with the critically important public communication, both day to day and during crisis, is some of the most rewarding work imaginable. I learn every day from the men and women on the front line and my PR colleagues throughout the country,” said Smith.

The Lloyd B. Dennis Distinguished Leadership Award is given annually by the Public Affairs and Government Section to an exemplary individual who has used his or her public affairs skills to promote truth, demonstrated high standards of integrity and honesty in business dealings, and helped affect positive change within an organization.
“Lauri-Ellen Smith is the consummate public affairs professional, sharing her knowledge with students and PR practitioners around the globe, while serving her community and the industry at large as a truly outstanding public relations professional and role model. We’re very proud to honor her with the 2015 Lloyd B. Dennis Award for her outstanding contributions to our profession,” said Dennis Award Chair Robert Dittmer, APR.
The award is named in honor of Lloyd B. Dennis, a public affairs executive, former speechwriter for the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury and former New York Times journalist, who died in 2003. Dennis served as Chairman of PAG for several years and was very active in the PRSA.
About the Public Relations Society of America
PRSA is the largest professional organization serving the U.S. public relations community. With a mission to “advance the profession and the professional,” PRSA provides news and information, thought leadership, continuing education and networking opportunities; sets standards of professional excellence and ethical conduct; and advocates for the business value of public relations and greater diversity among public relations professionals. Based in New York, PRSA comprises 110 local Chapters; 14 Professional Interest Sections that focus on specific industries and practice areas; and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which is active at more than 340 colleges and universities.
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.